SourceTree Issue: This is not a Valid Working Copy Path

Introduction

We will discuss a quick tip to resolve the SourceTree issue mentioned in the title.

Background

My system got upgraded to Windows 8.1 and I had to install all required software for the development work. I use SourceTree as a tool for Git commands for the projects. So, I installed that again after the format.

Problem

Unfortunately, when I started adding the projects as working copy, it complained me that “This is not a valid working copy path“. The error is not so much self explanatory, which triggered research work.

Solution

Before I landed upon the solution, I had visited all available menu options in SourceTree to find out the problem. Finally, something engrossed me. I was on Git Tab.

Tools -> Options -> Git

I found some buttons saying “Use Embedded Git“, “Use System Git” at the bottom. So, I suspected that Git is not yet enabled for SourceTree. Therefore, it is not able to identify my commands. I enabled it, that’s why it is shown as disabled below.

SourceTree Git Settings

SourceTree Git Settings

Voila!!! Everything started working as expected.

Help Someone

Share in your circle. Hit the social icons below. Keep coding folks. 🙂

Thanks for reading, have a great day ahead.

Leave a Reply

